

BURDWAN FARMERS' CONVENTION

The Second Convention of Burdwan District Farmers' Forum was held on December 15 and 16 at Suata Agricultural Farm in Burdwan district of West Bengal. A large gathering of farmers, agricultural experts and Government officers, numbering more than one thousand was present on the occasion.

A small agricultural and industrial exhibition was also arranged on the occasion which was opened by Dr. R. Ahmed, Minister of Agriculture, West Bengal, in which the products of the farmers of the district and the various Government departments were very neatly displayed. Prizes were awarded to as many as 50 individuals and institutions by the Burdwan Farmers' Forum.

The Convention was inaugurated by Shri Bijoylal Chatterjee, the celebrated rural poet of West Bengal who called upon the gathering to unite in order to fight the curse of poverty in the country.

Addressing the meeting Shri K. D. Sharma, Secretary of the Farmers' Forum, India explained the object for which the Forum had come into existence and the activities it intends to pursue. Shri Bhakta Chandra Ray, M.L.A., President of Burdwan Farmers' Forum, stressed the need and importance of the Farmers' Forum.

Dr. R. Ahmed, Minister of Agriculture in his presidential address emphasized the utility of the Farmers' Forum as an aid to Agricultural Extension in the district and described the various steps taken by the Government for improving the condition of farmers and agriculture as a whole.

. The meeting, on the next day, elected Shri Chandra Kanta Chaudhry as President and Shri Narendra

THIRD NATIONAL CONVENTION OF FARMERS

The Farmers' Forum, India has decided to hold the Third National Convention of Farmers of India from March 20 to 25, 1957.

The Convention would be preceded by the meetings of the Forums' Standing Committee on Research and also Commodity Committees on Sugarcane, Cotton, Jute, and other Fibres, Tobacco, Coconut, Plantation Crops, Cereals and Pulses, Oilseeds, Garden Crops, Cooperation and Marketing, Milk and Dairying and Animal Husbandry.

A Seminar on the "Role of Farmers' Organization in Agricultural and Community Development" will also be held on the occasion. It is also proposed to organize an "Agricultural and Village Industries Exhibition" which will depict the advancement made in agricultural sciences and the development of rural industries in this country and also other parts of the world.

The tentative programme of the Third Convention is as given below:

Wednesday March 20 and

Thursday March 21, 1957

Friday, March 22, 1957

Saturday, March 23, 1957

Sunday, March 24, 1957

Monday, March 25, 1957

Meeting of the Standing Committee on Research.

Meetings of the Commodity Committees. Seminar on "Role of Farmers Organization in Agricultural and Community Development."

Second Convention of Farm Women.
Second Convention of Young Farmers.
Meeting of the All India Farmers' Council.
Third National Convention of Farmers.

Meeting of the Governing Body of the Farmers' Forum, India.

Nath Chatterjee as Secretary of the District Farmers' Forum.

BOMBAY FARMERS' FORUM

The new State of Bombay is going to form a Farmers' Forum at the state level. This decision was taken at a meeting of about 60 farmers who met on December 18 at Bombay under the Chairmanship of Shri Mustafa Faki, State Minister of Agriculture.

Welcoming the move for the Forum, Shri Mustafa Faki said that in a country like India, where the percentage of illiteracy was very high, farmers—on whom depended the peoples' existence, needed to be enlightened first. He was confident that the Forums would serve this

purpose ultimately benefiting the country and the farmers, both.

Shri S. P. Mohite, Additional Development Commissioner also addressed the meeting. He welcomed the move to organize the Forum which, he said, would provide a platform for farmers, agricultural experts and others to meet together and pool their intelligence and energy for the solution of different problems that faced the farmers.

An ad-hoc committee has been formed to draft the constitution. It consists of Shri Musfata Faki, Minister of Agriculture as President; Shri H.G. Patil, Vice-President, Messrs. Rajendra Pandit, J. Bhiladwala and Anil Zhaveri, Secretaries and Shri V.V. Patil, Treasurer.